Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

New Hampshire Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
Are you looking to have your wedding in New Hampshire? Then you will need to take care of some legal matters before the wedding ceremony. To get a New Hampshire marriage license, you can usually go to any clerk office located in the county you plan to get married in. These clerk offices can be located in the county probate court or the circuit court.

There is a one time marriage license fee of $45; only cash payments are accepted in New Hampshire. There is no requirement for your or your spouse to be a current or previous resident of New Hampshire to obtain a marriage license that is valid through out the state. A mandatory 3 day waiting period is required after you pay for the marriage license. Most states don’t count Saturdays, Sundays or holidays as part of the three day waiting period. In some cases, the day you apply for the marriage license is not counted towards the three day waiting period either. After the three day waiting period, you will receive your marriage license, but you are not then able to get married. There is yet another three day waiting period before you actually get married.

To have a wedding in New Hampshire, you and your partner must be at or above the legal age of 18; this is so you won’t need parental consent to get married. You will need to bring a birth certificate to prove you are of legal age. The legal guardians or parents will have to be present if you or your partner is not 18 or older. If for some reason a parent or legal guardian is unable to be present (due to death, divorce or separation; or other circumstances), proper proof will need to be provided for verification. You will need to still bring your birth certificate to verify your age. If you or partner is under the age of 16, you will not be able to get married without a court order. If the male is under the age of 14 and the female is under the age of 13, you can not get married without an order from the court.

There is no need for you or your partner to have a blood test or physical exam to receive a marriage license. Ninety days after getting your marriage, it will expire. If you or your spouse was previously married and is now widowed or divorced, the date of death or divorce will be needed. You should also bring the death certificate or divorce decree for verification. These papers can be ordered online.

Once you and your partner are married, it will be time to file papers to have the wife’s last name changed. You will receive a marriage certificate, which is a piece of paper that indicates that the two of you have been legally married in the state of New Hampshire. This paper will need to be presented to government agencies, like social security and the motor vehicle office for a new social security card and license. This paper will also need to be used as proof for non government institutions, like your employers, banks, memberships, credit card companies and others.

Marriages that aren’t allowed in New Hampshire include same sex marriages, common law marriages, cousin marriages and marriages by proxy.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us